Home > Uncategorized > I don’t believe I ordered the Danish

I don’t believe I ordered the Danish

November 8, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

No, I’m not dead.

No, I haven’t posted in a month.

I’ve been busy. [Have you really? – ed] [No, I’ve been lazy. Bite me. -auth]

By way of repayment to loyal readers, here is a picture of a kitten:

lgph0223+kitten-in-a-bag-keith-kimberlin-poster

My neighborhood is known for its churches. There’s quite a few of them, you see. And not your usual Catholic, Episcopalian, Lutheran, Methodist, Baptist churches. We’ve got those, too. But we also go for the more obscure sects, it seems. We don’t just have a Lutheran Church, we’ve got the Zion German Evangelical Lutheran Church. The pastor’s first name is Reinhard! We don’t just have a Catholic church, we’ve got a Maronite Catholic Church, Our Lady of Lebanon. We’ve got churches across the street from each other. Churches built on top of each other. We’ve got Jehovah’s Witnesses.

I’ve lived here for about five years now, and I was pretty sure I’d seen every church in the neighborhood, knew every particular idiosyncracy.

I was wrong.

Yes, my neighborhood is home to the Danish Seamen’s Church.

IMG00127

Danish, anyone?

And lest you think this is just a holdover name from some bygone time when Danish Seamen trolled the wharves of Brooklyn Heights on the prowl for hookers and salted cod, check out the website. Hell, check out this picture:

IMG00128

Sprachen?

Yeah, it’s hard-core Danish. No word on whether the parishoners are all sea pirates with peg legs, but I’m holding out hope.

Like so much else that is strange in this city, this merits further investigation…

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

