Home > Uncategorized > Big thank you

Big thank you

Guys, just wanted to convey my sincere gratitude to everyone who has spread the word about Walkabout. We hit over 120 page views the other day. As I don’t think I even know 120 people, that means people who don’t even know me might be reading this, which is a very encouraging thought. I take this work seriously and I’m grateful it’s starting to find a broader audience beyond my immediate circle of friends. As always, please keep the feedback up to let me know how I can make this a more interesting experience for the reader. I’ll keep the photos coming (I know the site photographs may be getting a bit long in the tooth, but I’ll have some more soon) and I’ll try to talk to as many funny and interesting people as I can to keep the posts lively. Thanks again, everyone, and keep telling your neighbors about Walkabout.

I’ve just booked my hotels for Naxos and Samos, two islands in the Cyclades I’ll be visiting on my slow trek up to Turkey. Big shout out to hotels.com for making that process easier. Of course, as soon as I did that, I got a recommendation at dinner that I make landfall in Turkey via Rhodes, which is apparently a delightful island in its own right and only thirty minutes from Turkey by ferry, but c’est la vie. The fact that I’ll be taking the long way ’round to Turkey doesn’t bother me as much, and I’m glad to have the next leg of my journey plotted out.

If anyone can recommend good hotels in Turkey, you know where to post your comments. Sinan, I’m looking at you buddy.

Vagabond

  1. Marianna
    June 12, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I’m one of those people you don’t know who’s reading this. I dug at Iklaina during the first session last year; I was in Alissa’s trench. As this time of year rolled around I was thinking about the dig last year and wanted to find the report for last year’s excavation, and when I typed in the words “Iklaina 2008 report” in google your blog popped up! I’m really enjoying reading your blog and about your experience there and of course reading about how the dig is advancing! It’s making me seriously consider going back next year if I can.

    Also, I haven’t been to Samos, but Naxos is probably my favorite island in Greece. Amazing beaches, nice town. Rhodes is also great, if you go there. Have fun!

    -Marianna

    • nycwastrel
      June 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

      Marianna, thanks for reading and posting in the comments section. I’m glad you had a good time in Iklaina last year and happy to know you’re enjoying the blog. I’m looking forward to both Samos and Naxos, and expect both to be fantastic experiences. Do keep posting here, and let me know what I can do to make this a better blog.

  2. J
    June 12, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Hmm, apparently just because your blog is funny, well-written, regularly updated and about a fascinating new adventure, it is drawing more attention in its short time than my blog (achem, http://www.iamj.blogspot.com) typically draws in the same time period. And my blog… at least has a lot of words in it. Well, ok, it’s about politics, culture, news and lengthy analyses laced with profanity, but *I* think it’s interesting. Hmm… maybe that’s the problem; to paraphrase Katherine Hepburn, “If you write what’s interesting to you, at least one person is amused.”

    Seriously, though — Kudos, Wastrel. Enjoy the islands and Turkey!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

