Home > Uncategorized > 14 days to go

14 days to go

My checklist these days runs extraordinarily long. Typically, I usually have one or two “must do” items along the lines of “eat” “meditate” and “exercise.” The last couple weeks, items like “Write a 25 page paper today” “Set up appointment with movers” “Buy new camera” and “create new bank account” have been more common.

I’m equal parts excited and terrified by the prospect of the upcoming trip. Yes, of course, three weeks on the coast of Greece is hard to kvetch about. But really, most of that time is going to be spent in a dusty hole in the ground, meticulously brushing potsherds while trying not to get sunstroke. My roommate will likely be an 18-year-old kid with bad acne who will want to play Jay-Z at 3am.

Do the kids still listen to the Jay-Z?

I’m sure I’ll have at least a few hours of free time, and the destination does look gorgeous, but I’m expecting three weeks of labor-intensive, difficult work. Just what the doctor ordered.

I fly out May 28. Five days before that I’m flying to Boulder, Colorado to run a 10K.

Wait, couldn’t you have run a 10K in New York City, without having to fly to the other side of the country? *SIGH* Yes, but that would be making things easy, now, wouldn’t it? Not the smartest move to be going on back-to-back trips while moving out of my apartment, but then, I’m not the smartest guy around. And I seem to be congenitally incapable of moving at a moderate speed. Just once, I wish I had a gear setting somewhere in between “total sloth” and “Mach 5 with my hair on fire.” Given limited options, though, I’m ditching sloth for a few months in favor of the scalp-singeing thing.

More as events unfold.

  1. Juan
    May 18, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    While I don’t envy the amount of physical labor you’re about to undertake, I admire your passion and sense of adventure. I think most people (myself especially) would be a lot happier if they took advantage of such opportunities.

    The gods be with you on your journey. I’ll try to live vicariously through your experiences, while drawing inspiration to have some of my own.

    -Juan

    P.S. You’re going to be so buff when you come back.
    mmm… roar! 😉

  2. J
    June 9, 2009 at 11:05 am

    I wish I had that moderate gear setting all the time. [sigh] I know I’m behind the curve here, but a belated bon voyage; I’m enjoying the blog heartily and it sounds like a fantastic time. Part of me now wants to be you when I grow up (or un-grow up, depending on your perspective I suppose). Of course, I think you once told me that you wanted to be me when you grew up, so I suppose it’s sauce for the goose… the odds will be even when our showdown comes at the Apocalypse.

    Or something that makes sense.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

